Ta Dah!!
2005-07-12, 10:20 p.m.

Alrighty, so Reva got me hooked on these online blogs, so I thought I would give it a shot. Here begins the story of Elizabeth and the adventures of a single Mormon girl in her twenties.

About me:

Who: 23 year old single Mormon girl named Elizabeth. (NOT Liz, Beth, Lisa, Betsy, Eliza, etc...Elizabeth or Lizbeth will do)
What: Human, female, cellist, music theorist, arranger/composer, a healthy mixture of introvert and extrovert for the most part, but having converted into an extrovert.
Where: currently, Chandler, AZ.
When: June 12, 2005, about 10:30pm PST. (Really, it is Arizona time).
Why: Because God put me here on this earth with these parents in this situation in his own wisdom. He knew that I would have many opportunities to grow and to serve Him.
How: no comment.
Other: I'm 6 feet tall, wear size 12 shoes, crooked fingers, blonde, and curious.

So I made the decision to come out to Arizona for the summer, and I am wondering whether that was such a wonderful decision or not. I could've stayed in Alabama for the summer (and the humidity that goes along with that) and lived through some hurricanes, and I could have moved 'home' to Albuquerque and found something to do there to keep me from going nuts, and I suppose I could have taken out a nice student loan and gone on some lavish trip to India or something...but no, AZ is where I landed my ship. I had some unfinished business to take care of here, which, by the way, is still unfinished, and I believe will stay that way.

I teach for this thing called the Institute of Reading Development, or as we call it, IRD. I teach kids of all ages (4-112 years old) how to read better. It's a wonderful experience, I am getting paid more than most teachers could ever boast of, but I am exhausted. This is real work. Not grading papers work or delivering pizzas work, which were my last two jobs, but real, exhausting work that requires a lot of heart and soul. I am so tired. I suppose that this is good experience for me, and one day when I have the million and one kids that perhaps one day I will have, I will know what to do with them as far as reading is concerned. BUT, I have so much studying and paper writing to do this summer, and I seriously have done NONE of it!! THIS IS BAD!!! I am working on my masters degree, for goodness sakes!! I have no time!! I am going nuts!! I am loving the experience, but I am having serious issues here! But maybe it is just bad timing.
This isn't helped by the fact that I have had two tow-truck rides within the last five days. Tire blew out and engine died due to a short in the electrical system. Two new tires, a fuse and a circuit breaker later, I have a car that has too many miles and not enough life left in it.
And yet, all of this is lightened by a few wonderful things, such as an angelic 3rd grade class who seem to love to be there and was the last class of the day, and the knowledge that tomorrow I have a wonderful middle school class that I really can't wait to see because they are so great. Yes, a good middle school class. It makes a BIG difference when all of the students actually want to be there.

well...I should probably say before I end this that I love my Mom and Dad and sister a lot, and of course all the rest of my family. They are great, and I don't know what I would do without them. My friends have helped to shape me into who I am and who I am striving to be. Most importantly, I love my Heavenly Father, and I hope that at the very least he gets some entertainment as he watches my crazy life move on.

That's all for now. Laters!!

last - next


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design