change
2006-01-31, 3:21 p.m.

Well, I figure the last day of the month is a good day to fill in some of the blanks left from the rest of this month. As a Church, members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints were challenged to read the Book of Mormon from cover to cover, starting in August and finishing by December 31st. I accomplished the goal, finishing just before Christmas. It was a wonderful experience. So now (with a little inspiration from The Other Side of Heaven and Becky, I am reading the Book of Mormon and Das Buch Mormon side by side, with the goal of having much better German comprehension and speaking skills by the time I finish, and a much closer understanding of the Book of Mormon. It is a slow going process, but I am doing it, one chapter at a time.
It's amazing how much I think I have changed within the last 6 months. I have been reading my old entries, and I seem rather brash and often judgemental in them. I don't think I am quite like that anymore, although I recognize that I am a work in progress. I never thought of myself as really judgemental, but my entries prove that I am. :) I am going to work on that.
So, here is the plan. I finish the semester, head out to Arizona to attend a few sealings, find myself a job at a community college (hopefully in AZ), write and finish the thesis, do the lecture, get the masters degree, and then move on to a PhD program once I have the masters degree in hand and some benefits. I have decided that I want to keep myself available to get married. Going on a mission would put me in single-ville for about 3 more years. :) In a previous entry I wrote that I am not going to focus everything on getting married, but fact of the matter is that it is a worthy goal to have. I will be fine if I am an old maid, but I am going to focus on developing those talents and abilities that good Mom's have.
I am also going to really stop bad-mouthing guys. I really have become rather bad at this. I recently read something that President Hinckley wrote about his parents, stating that he never heard either of them complain about the other. I want that. I want to be able to be patient and loving and compassionate towards whoever I marry and have the utmost respect for him, in both word and deed. I want to practice only having good things to say about guys. Just to see where that takes me. I think it will be a good thing to try out. I think it will be very difficult, but nevertheless, a good thing.
You know, I have changed my outlook on a bunch of things. It is amazing to see the blessings I am recieving because I read the Book of Mormon and because I am trying to endure well and to be prepared to pass with flying colors any trial of my faith.
My relationship with my family is so much better than it was. It really is. My relationships with friends are so much better. I think I am even a better teacher now.
Alright, I need to reread the first 6 chapters of Cadwallader and Gagne again. The teacher thinks that we have forgotten it all, and you know what? We probably have. :) This will be a good thing.
Good night, dear friends. Pleasant reading!

last - next


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design