taking one in, CD's, and New York
2006-02-22, 10:52 p.m.

It's not every day I get to enjoy the idea that in the next 24 hours I will be welcoming in a new roommate that will have for the last 2 years been in jail. Poor thing is in a bad spot, she's a member of the Church, her family is only doing so much to support her, so I am taking her in. She has some money given by her Grandpa, so she will pay rent and her own way with food and such, but this is going to be a big change for her. She has smoked for a long time (by the way, that is so not in line with Church standards) and once she moves in, she can't touch the stuff. If she is to move in, she HAS to quit. I have asthma, so even if she were to smoke outside, the smell and the smoke and dust that will come in with her will just be way too much for me to handle, so no smoking or she is not welcome. I am supposed to really lay the law with her. I am going to purchase a lockbox...hopefully tomorrow just to put all my papers with my name, social, birthdate and all that in it. I really don't have anything here of much value besides the laptop, but this will come with me where ever I go unless she comes along with me somewhere, in which case I will leave it at the house. It will be a good thing, cause it will truly alleviate my financial situation, and I really have been feeling lonely lately. No, not your fault!!! I am the one who moved to Alabama!! :) If I am feeling lonely, it's on my head and my head alone.
So for class tomorrow I had to do an analysis of my CD collection. Being the good Mormon that I am, my collection I do believe will greatly differ from those of my colleagues I do believe. I have a bunch of standard classical rep, which I expect most of them to also have, with a few more CD's with solo cello stuff on them. Then there are my vernacular CD's, with Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Aretha Franklin, Louis Armstrong, Patsy Cline, Toby Keith, and the group Counting Crows. I also have a CD titled Something for Everybody from Baz Luhrman, the Aussie movie maker, which literally is something for everybody. Then there are my Churchy CD's, with of course the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and some other church groups performing uplifting songs. It was fun going through them.
Oh, I'm going to New York for Spring Break. Don't know if ya'll knew that yet, but I am. Yep, way excited!!! :) Going for a theory conference. I am kinda sad, cause I was wanting to hit a Broadway musical, but the cheapest one was $55, and it's Phantom, and I've seen that twice now, the last time being this last summer. Not that I wouldn't mind seeing it again, but I would kinda like to see another one, ya know! But I am going to the Met and am going to try my hardest to take a picture of a Van Gogh or a Monet when I am there. :)

Alright, over and out!

last - next


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design